Home Content Area

Home Navigator

breadcrumb navigation

End Navigator



The SDPC's 11th Annual Report

5 July 2004 - The fight against international terrorism, the communication of personal data to the US authorities by airline companies, the Tarmed medical tariffs, the planned introduction of sectoral personal identifiers as well as the amendment of the Swiss Criminal Code to bring about the decriminalisation of the recording of telephone conversations in business are the main issues that occupied the Federal Data Protection Commissioner (SDPC) over the past year.
In his 11th Annual Report, covering the period from 1 April 2003 to 31 March 2004, the SDPC expresses his views on risks and problems that can result when a federal authority publishes personal data on the internet; he calls for data protection principles to be taken into account from as early as the organisational phase of work on E-Government projects; he criticises the lack of consideration given to the differences between administrative and statistical data processing in relation to data protection regulations; he points out the data protection issues and risks that have to be resolved in connection with facial recognition systems at sports stadiums; he demands strict compliance with the rules of professional confidentiality by doctors when instructing debt collection agencies or when taking debt collection proceedings against patients; and he appeals to computer and internet users to tackle the potential security risks that they face and to take effective precautions.
Lastly, he draws attention to the decision of the Federal Data Protection Commission (FDPC) in the case of drugs tests for apprentices, which largely follows the requests that the SDPC formulated in his recommendation and the submission against the Roche pharmaceutical company.

The SDPC demanded that in combating international terrorism, the issue to be raised is not just the effectiveness of the measures that are under discussion and which at times involve serious intrusions into the private domain. What must be examined above all is the effec-tiveness of existing legislation. Even in times of crisis, new legislation should be enacted only if it has been established that the existing law is inadequate, and not simply that it has been inadequately enforced.
The SDPC is demanding that the communication of personal data by airlines to the US authorities should only take place on condition that the personality of the air passengers is protected. He has criticised measures that are being planned by the US authorities in connection with civil air traffic in order to combat international terrorism, because these fulfil neither the principles of proportionality nor of proper purpose. Passenger data may be passed on only on the basis of an agreement that guarantees the general principles of data protection. In particular, any such agreement must indicate the reason why the data is being passed on, the safekeeping period and the rules relating to the deletion of the data, and it must clearly state that the data must not be used for other purposes. An agreement of this type is currently being drafted by an interdepartmental working group under the supervision of the Federal Office for Civil Aviation. Until this bilateral agreement comes into force, an interim solution can be used that is based on the information passed on to the persons concerned.
In connection with the Tarmed Master Agreement, which came into force in relation to health insurance on
1 January 2004, the SDPC already indicated last year that many questions relating to the law of data protection were still to be answered. He conducted an investigation and in his report in June 2004 he argued that the data processing in its current form is not reasonable and therefore violates the Federal Act on Data Protection (FADP). He has issued recommendations in order to remedy the situation, and has called on the agencies responsible to devise a data protection strategy.
In relation to the planned introduction of sectoral personal identifiers (SPINs), the SDPC also expects that data protection concerns will be taken into consideration in the phases that are now imminent. To do this will first of all require a detailed analysis of the individual processes, which should be simplified in the case of administrative personal identifiers. The SDPC will examine the draft Act during the consultative committee stage and make his views known.
In relation to the amendment of Article 179quinquies of the Swiss Criminal Code (SCC), the SDPC has indicated that the planned decriminalisation of the recording of certain telephone conversations in business without the consent of the participants in the conversation constitutes an exception. As a result, in related cases a strict interpretation of such exceptions must always be made. The recordings may only be used as evidence in court proceedings, and passing the recordings on to third parties remains a criminal offence.
The SDPC expressed his views on the risks and problems that can result when a federal authority publishes personal data on the internet. This data can be traced by electronic search engines from anywhere in the world and, more importantly, for an unlimited period of time. It is the duty of the federal authorities involved to give basic consideration to the protection of personal rights, as the state in particular has a special obligation to uphold the constitutionally protected right of every individual to protection against the abuse of their personal data.
In the field of E-Government, the SDPC has demanded that those commissioning projects should appoint a person to be responsible for data protection and should ensure that adequate knowledge of data protection is made available to those involved in the projects. The authority commissioning the project is itself responsible for compliance with data protection provisions.
The SDPC criticised the fact that no specific consideration has been given to the relationship between administrative and statistical data processing, even though this relationship is a key aspect of data protection in statistics. The SDPC indicated clearly that the possibility of connecting personal data posed a significantly greater risk to personal rights than was justified by the mere processing of statistics.
The use of facial recognition systems in stadiums should take place only if clear notification is provided to those concerned, and in particular if reference is made to the possibility of exercising the right of access. In addition, the SDPC drew attention to the fact that the allocation of responsibilities and tasks between private organisations, which are responsible for certain security measures, and the police, who are responsible for upholding public order, must be clearly defined.
The SDPC has called for the strict preservation of professional confidentiality in cases in which doctors instruct third parties to recover debts or themselves initiate debt collection proceedings against defaulting Patient. In such cases, the doctor generally requires the consent of the person concerned before passing on personal data. In cases where the person concerned does not give consent, but the doctor in his personal interest depends on an exemption from the duty of confidentiality, the Act makes it possible for a senior or supervisory authority to lift the obligation of professional confidentiality.
The SDPC is appealing to PC and internet users to pay close attention to security when using their computers and working with data and to take action to deal with the possible risks. Recognising the potential dangers is the first step toward self-protection, which can normally be guaranteed by using software programs that are supplied free of charge.
Finally, the SDPC drew attention to the decision of the Federal Data Protection Commission in the case of drugs tests during apprenticeships. According to the ruling of the Federal Data Protection Commission, the Roche pharmaceutical company will have to adapt its drugs strat-egy to ensure that drugs tests are carried out only in the event of justified suspicion in an individual case and where consent to this particular testing has been obtained. In reaching its decision, the Federal Data Protection Commission has largely followed the wishes of the SDPC in his recommendations relating to Roche.
Back to overview 2004

End Content Area

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Verlaufsnavigation

Ende Navigator



11. Tätigkeitsbericht des EDSB

5. Juli 2004 - Der Kampf gegen den internationalen Terrorismus, die Übermittlung von Personendaten durch Luftfahrtsgesellschaften an US-Behörden, der Ärztetarif Tarmed, die geplante Einführung sektorieller Personenidentifikatoren sowie die Änderung des Strafgesetzbuches in Zusammenhang mit der Straflosigkeit von Aufnahmen von Telefongesprächen im Geschäftsverkehr beschäftigten den Eidgenössischen Datenschutzbeauftragten (EDSB) im letzten Jahr.
In seinem 11. Tätigkeitsbericht für den Zeitraum vom 1. April 2003 bis 31. März 2004 äussert sich der EDSB zu den Risiken und Problemen, die sich ergeben können, wenn ein Bundesorgan Personendaten im Internet veröffentlicht; er verlangt, dass bei den Arbeiten im Rahmen des E-Government bereits in der Projektorganisation der Achtung der datenschutzrechtlichen Grundsätze Rechnung getragen wird; er bemängelt das Fehlen von datenschutzrechtlichen Überlegungen zum Verhältnis zwischen administrativen und statistischen Datenbearbeitungen; er weist in Zusammenhang mit der Gesichtserkennung in Stadien auf die zu lösenden datenschutzrechtlichen Fragen und Risiken hin; er fordert die strikte Einhaltung des Berufsgeheimnisses von Ärztinnen und Ärzten bei der Beauftragung von Inkassobüros bzw. bei der Betreibung von Patientinnen und Patienten; er appelliert an die PC- und Internetbenutzerinnen und -benutzer, sich mit den möglichen Sicherheitsrisiken auseinander zu setzen und wirksame Vorkehrungen zu treffen.
Schliesslich weist er auf den Entscheid der Eidgenössischen Datenschutzkommission (EDSK) in Sachen Drogentests in der Lehre hin, der weitgehend den Begehren folgt, die der EDSB in seiner Empfehlung und deren Weiterzug gegenüber der Firma Roche formuliert hat.

Der EDSB fordert, dass bei der Bekämpfung des internationalen Terrorismus nicht nur die Frage nach der Wirksamkeit der zur Diskussion gestellten Massnahmen, die zum Teil mit erheblichen Eingriffen in die Privatsphäre einher gehen, aufgeworfen wird, sondern zuallererst die Wirksamkeit der bestehenden Gesetze zu überprüfen ist. Auch in Krisenzeiten sollten neue Gesetze nur dann geschaffen werden, wenn fest steht, dass es an adäquaten Gesetzen mangelt, und nicht lediglich am Vollzug derselben.
Der EDSB verlangt, dass die Übermittlung von Personendaten durch Luftfahrtgesellschaften an US-Behörden nur unter Wahrung des Schutzes der Persönlichkeit der Flugpassagiere erfolgt. Er kritisiert die Massnahmen, welche die US-Behörden in Zusammenhang mit dem Zivilflugverkehr planen, um den internationalen Terrorismus zu bekämpfen, weil diese weder die Grundsätze der Verhältnismässigkeit noch der Zweckbindung erfüllen. Die Übermittlung der Passagierdaten kann nur auf der Basis eines Abkommens erfolgen, das die allgemeinen Datenschutzgrundsätze garantiert; es muss insbesondere den Zweck der Übermittlung, die Aufbewahrungsfrist und die Regeln über das Löschen ausweisen und festhalten, dass die Daten nicht zu anderen Zwecken verwendet werden dürfen. Ein solches Abkommen wird zur Zeit durch eine interdepartementale Arbeitsgruppe unter der Leitung des Bundesamts für Zivilluftfahrt ausgearbeitet. Bis ein solches bilaterales Abkommen in Kraft tritt, kann eine Zwischenlösung angewandt werden, die auf der Information der betroffenen Personen basiert.
In Zusammenhang mit dem Tarmed-Rahmenvertrag, der für den Bereich Krankenversicherung auf den 1. Januar 2004 in Kraft getreten ist, hat der EDSB bereits im letzten Jahr darauf hingewiesen, dass viele datenschutzrechtliche Fragen nach wie vor offen sind. Er hat eine Abklärung durchgeführt und in seinem Bericht im Juni 2004 aufgezeigt, dass die Datenbearbeitung in der gegenwärtigen Form nicht verhältnismässig ist und damit gegen das Bundesgesetz über den Datenschutz (DSG) verstösst. Er gibt Empfehlungen ab, um diesen Missstand zu beseitigen, und fordert die Ausarbeitung eines Datenschutzkonzepts durch die verantwortlichen Stellen.
Auch bei der vorgesehenen Einführung sektorieller Personenidentifikatoren (SPIN) erwartet der EDSB, dass Datenschutzanliegen in den nun anstehenden Schritten berücksichtigt werden. Dafür müssen in erster Linie die einzelnen Abläufe genau analysiert werden, welche mit administrativen Personenidentifikatoren vereinfacht werden sollen. Der EDSB wird während der Vernehmlassungsverfahren den Gesetzesentwurf prüfen und Stellung nehmen.
Der EDSB weist in Zusammenhang mit der Änderung von Artikel 179quinquies des Strafgesetzbuches (StGB) darauf hin, dass die darin vorgesehene Straflosigkeit der Aufnahme bestimmter Telefongespräche im Geschäftsverkehr ohne Einwilligung der Gesprächsteilnehmer eine Ausnahmeregelung darstellt und als solche immer eng zu fassen ist. Die Aufnahmen dürfen ausschliesslich zu Beweiszwecken verwendet werden. Insbesondere die Weitergabe der Aufnahmen an Dritte bleibt nach wie vor strafbar.
Der EDSB äussert sich zu den Risiken und Problemen, die sich ergeben können, wenn ein Bundesorgan Personendaten im Internet veröffentlicht; diese Daten können mittels elektronischen Suchmaschinen weltweit und vor allem zeitlich uneingeschränkt aufgefunden werden. Es obliegt den betreffenden Bundesorganen, grundsätzliche Überlegungen zum Schutz der Persönlichkeitsrechte anzustellen, denn gerade der Staat hat eine besondere Pflicht, dem verfassungsrechtlich geschützten Anspruch jeder Person auf Schutz vor Missbrauch ihrer persönlichen Daten gerecht zu werden.
Bei den Arbeiten im Bereich des E-Government verlangt der EDSB, dass die Auftraggeber von Projekten in der Projektorganisation die Verantwortlichen für den Datenschutz festlegen und dafür sorgen, dass Datenschutz-Know-how im Rahmen der Projekte vorhanden ist. Für die Einhaltung des Datenschutz sind die Auftraggeber selber verantwortlich.
Der EDSB bemängelt, dass zum Verhältnis zwischen administrativen und statistischen Datenbearbeitungen keine greifbaren Überlegungen gemacht werden, obwohl dieses Verhältnis für den Datenschutz in der Statistik zentral ist. Der EDSB weist mit Nachdruck darauf hin, dass die Verknüpfbarkeit von Personendaten bedeutend grössere Gefahren für die Persönlichkeitsrechte beinhaltet als blosse Statistikbearbeitungen.
Beim Einsatz von Gesichtserkennungssystemen in Stadien drängt sich eine klare Information der betroffenen Personen auf, um insbesondere auf die Möglichkeit der Ausübung des Auskunftsrechts hinzuweisen. Zudem macht der EDSB darauf aufmerksam, dass die Kompetenz- und Aufgabenteilung zwischen privaten Organen, die für bestimmte Sicherheitsmassnahmen zuständig sind, und Polizeiorganen, denen die Wahrung der öffentlichen Sicherheit obliegt, klar zu definieren ist.
Der EDSB fordert die strikte Wahrung des Berufsgeheimnisses in Fällen, in denen Ärzte Dritte mit dem Inkasso beauftragen oder Betreibungen gegen säumige Patienten einleiten. In solchen Fällen benötigt der Arzt für die Weitergabe von Personendaten grundsätzlich die Einwilligung der betroffenen Person. In Fällen, in denen der Betroffene die Einwilligung nicht erteilt, der Arzt aber aus persönlichem Interesse auf eine Befreiung von der Schweigepflicht angewiesen ist, sieht das Gesetz die Möglichkeit der Befreiung vom Berufsgeheimnis durch die vorgesetzte Behörde oder die Aufsichtsbehörde vor.
Der EDSB appelliert an die PC- und Internetbenutzer, der Sicherheit ihrer Installation und ihrer Daten grösste Beachtung zu schenken und sich mit den möglichen Gefahren auseinander zu setzen. Das Risikopotential zu erkennen bedeutet den ersten Schritt hin zum Selbstschutz, der im Regelfall mit Gratis-Softwareprogrammen gewährleistet werden kann.
Schliesslich weist der EDSB auf den Entscheid der EDSK in Sachen Drogentests in der Lehre hin. Laut Urteil der EDSK hat die Firma Roche ihr Drogenkonzept dahingehend anzupassen, dass Drogentests nur auf begründeten Verdacht hin im Einzelfall und nur bei Vorliegen einer auf diesen Einzelfall bezogenen Einwilligung vorgenommen werden dürfen. Damit folgt die EDSK weitgehend dem Begehren, das der EDSB in seiner Empfehlung gegen die Firma Roche formuliert hat.
Zurück zur Übersicht 2004

Ende Inhaltsbereich