Home Content Area

Home Navigator

breadcrumb navigation

End Navigator



The SDPC's 11th Annual Report

5 July 2004 - The fight against international terrorism, the communication of personal data to the US authorities by airline companies, the Tarmed medical tariffs, the planned introduction of sectoral personal identifiers as well as the amendment of the Swiss Criminal Code to bring about the decriminalisation of the recording of telephone conversations in business are the main issues that occupied the Federal Data Protection Commissioner (SDPC) over the past year.
In his 11th Annual Report, covering the period from 1 April 2003 to 31 March 2004, the SDPC expresses his views on risks and problems that can result when a federal authority publishes personal data on the internet; he calls for data protection principles to be taken into account from as early as the organisational phase of work on E-Government projects; he criticises the lack of consideration given to the differences between administrative and statistical data processing in relation to data protection regulations; he points out the data protection issues and risks that have to be resolved in connection with facial recognition systems at sports stadiums; he demands strict compliance with the rules of professional confidentiality by doctors when instructing debt collection agencies or when taking debt collection proceedings against patients; and he appeals to computer and internet users to tackle the potential security risks that they face and to take effective precautions.
Lastly, he draws attention to the decision of the Federal Data Protection Commission (FDPC) in the case of drugs tests for apprentices, which largely follows the requests that the SDPC formulated in his recommendation and the submission against the Roche pharmaceutical company.

The SDPC demanded that in combating international terrorism, the issue to be raised is not just the effectiveness of the measures that are under discussion and which at times involve serious intrusions into the private domain. What must be examined above all is the effec-tiveness of existing legislation. Even in times of crisis, new legislation should be enacted only if it has been established that the existing law is inadequate, and not simply that it has been inadequately enforced.
The SDPC is demanding that the communication of personal data by airlines to the US authorities should only take place on condition that the personality of the air passengers is protected. He has criticised measures that are being planned by the US authorities in connection with civil air traffic in order to combat international terrorism, because these fulfil neither the principles of proportionality nor of proper purpose. Passenger data may be passed on only on the basis of an agreement that guarantees the general principles of data protection. In particular, any such agreement must indicate the reason why the data is being passed on, the safekeeping period and the rules relating to the deletion of the data, and it must clearly state that the data must not be used for other purposes. An agreement of this type is currently being drafted by an interdepartmental working group under the supervision of the Federal Office for Civil Aviation. Until this bilateral agreement comes into force, an interim solution can be used that is based on the information passed on to the persons concerned.
In connection with the Tarmed Master Agreement, which came into force in relation to health insurance on
1 January 2004, the SDPC already indicated last year that many questions relating to the law of data protection were still to be answered. He conducted an investigation and in his report in June 2004 he argued that the data processing in its current form is not reasonable and therefore violates the Federal Act on Data Protection (FADP). He has issued recommendations in order to remedy the situation, and has called on the agencies responsible to devise a data protection strategy.
In relation to the planned introduction of sectoral personal identifiers (SPINs), the SDPC also expects that data protection concerns will be taken into consideration in the phases that are now imminent. To do this will first of all require a detailed analysis of the individual processes, which should be simplified in the case of administrative personal identifiers. The SDPC will examine the draft Act during the consultative committee stage and make his views known.
In relation to the amendment of Article 179quinquies of the Swiss Criminal Code (SCC), the SDPC has indicated that the planned decriminalisation of the recording of certain telephone conversations in business without the consent of the participants in the conversation constitutes an exception. As a result, in related cases a strict interpretation of such exceptions must always be made. The recordings may only be used as evidence in court proceedings, and passing the recordings on to third parties remains a criminal offence.
The SDPC expressed his views on the risks and problems that can result when a federal authority publishes personal data on the internet. This data can be traced by electronic search engines from anywhere in the world and, more importantly, for an unlimited period of time. It is the duty of the federal authorities involved to give basic consideration to the protection of personal rights, as the state in particular has a special obligation to uphold the constitutionally protected right of every individual to protection against the abuse of their personal data.
In the field of E-Government, the SDPC has demanded that those commissioning projects should appoint a person to be responsible for data protection and should ensure that adequate knowledge of data protection is made available to those involved in the projects. The authority commissioning the project is itself responsible for compliance with data protection provisions.
The SDPC criticised the fact that no specific consideration has been given to the relationship between administrative and statistical data processing, even though this relationship is a key aspect of data protection in statistics. The SDPC indicated clearly that the possibility of connecting personal data posed a significantly greater risk to personal rights than was justified by the mere processing of statistics.
The use of facial recognition systems in stadiums should take place only if clear notification is provided to those concerned, and in particular if reference is made to the possibility of exercising the right of access. In addition, the SDPC drew attention to the fact that the allocation of responsibilities and tasks between private organisations, which are responsible for certain security measures, and the police, who are responsible for upholding public order, must be clearly defined.
The SDPC has called for the strict preservation of professional confidentiality in cases in which doctors instruct third parties to recover debts or themselves initiate debt collection proceedings against defaulting Patient. In such cases, the doctor generally requires the consent of the person concerned before passing on personal data. In cases where the person concerned does not give consent, but the doctor in his personal interest depends on an exemption from the duty of confidentiality, the Act makes it possible for a senior or supervisory authority to lift the obligation of professional confidentiality.
The SDPC is appealing to PC and internet users to pay close attention to security when using their computers and working with data and to take action to deal with the possible risks. Recognising the potential dangers is the first step toward self-protection, which can normally be guaranteed by using software programs that are supplied free of charge.
Finally, the SDPC drew attention to the decision of the Federal Data Protection Commission in the case of drugs tests during apprenticeships. According to the ruling of the Federal Data Protection Commission, the Roche pharmaceutical company will have to adapt its drugs strat-egy to ensure that drugs tests are carried out only in the event of justified suspicion in an individual case and where consent to this particular testing has been obtained. In reaching its decision, the Federal Data Protection Commission has largely followed the wishes of the SDPC in his recommendations relating to Roche.
Back to overview 2004

End Content Area

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

le fil d’Ariane (breadcrumb trail)

Fin navigateur



11ème rapport d'activités du PFPD

5 juillet 2004 - L'an passé, le préposé fédéral à la protection des données (PFPD) s'est penché sur la lutte contre le terrorisme international, la transmission de données personnelles aux autorités américaines par les compagnies d'aviation, le tarif médical Tarmed, l'introduction prévue d'identificateurs sectoriels de personnes et la modification du Code pénal qui fait que l'enregistrement de certaines conversations téléphoniques dans le cadre des relations d'affaires n'est plus punissable.
Dans son 11ème rapport d'activités, couvrant la période allant du 1er avril 2003 au 31 mars 2004, le PFPD s'est exprimé sur les risques et les problèmes qui pourraient se présenter lorsqu'un organe de la Confédération publie des données personnelles sur Internet ; il demande que, dans le cadre des travaux relatifs à la cyberadministration, les principes légaux en matière de protection des données soient pris en considération par l'organisation du projet ; il critique le manque de réflexions relatives aux aspects légaux de la protection des données en ce qui concerne le rap-port entre les traitements de données réalisés à des fins administratives d'une part et à des fins statistiques de l'autre ; en matière de reconnaissance faciale dans les stades, il attire l'attention sur les questions non résolues et les risques au point de vue des aspects légaux de la protection des données ; il demande le strict respect du secret professionnel par les médecins lorsqu'ils mandatent des bureaux d'encaissement ou qu'ils engagent des poursuites à l'encontre de patients ; il enjoint les utilisateurs d'ordinateurs personnels et d'Internet à se préoccuper des risques potentiels en matière de sécurité des données et à prendre des mesures préventives efficaces.
Enfin, il attire l'attention sur la décision relative au dépistage de la consommation de drogues chez les apprentis que la Commission fédérale de la protection des données (CFPD) a rendue à l'encontre de l'entreprise Roche, suivant en cela les grandes lignes des recommandations formulées par le PFPD et transmises à la commission.

En matière de lutte contre le terrorisme international, le PFPD demande qu'on ne se contente pas d'aborder la question de l'efficacité des mesures mises en discussion, lesquelles entraînent parfois des atteintes considérables à la sphère privée, mais qu'on étudie en priorité l'efficacité des lois existantes. Même en période de crise, il ne faut créer de nouvelles lois que si le manque de dispositions adéquates est avéré et qu'on n'a pas affaire à une simple carence dans l'application de la législation en vigueur.
Pour ce qui est de la transmission de données personnelles aux autorités américaines par les compagnies d'aviation, le PFPD demande que ce transfert ne s'opère que dans le strict respect de la protection de la personnalité des passagers. Il critique les mesures planifiées par les autorités américaines dans le domaine du trafic aérien civil en vue de combattre le terrorisme international, car ces mesures ne respectent ni le principe de la proportionnalité ni celui de la finalité. La transmission des données relatives aux passagers ne devrait s'effectuer que sur la base d'un accord garantissant le respect des grands principes de la protection des données ; l'accord devrait notamment définir le but de la transmission, le délai de conservation et les règles présidant à l'effacement des données, sans oublier la garantie que les données ne seront pas utilisées à d'autres fins. Un groupe de travail interdépartemental, sous la direction de l'Office fédéral de l'aviation civile, y travaille actuellement. Jusqu'à l'entrée en vigueur d'un accord bilatéral de ce type, on peut s'en remettre à une solution transitoire fondée sur l'information des personnes concernées.
En ce qui concerne la convention tarifaire Tarmed, entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2004 dans le domaine de l'assurance-maladie, le PFPD a déjà signalé l'an passé que bien des questions légales relatives à la protection des données sont encore et toujours en suspens. Après analyse de la situation, il a précisé dans son rapport de juin 2004 que, sous sa forme actuelle, le traitement des données ne respecte pas le principe de la proportionnalité et contrevient donc à la loi fédérale sur la protection des données (LPD). Il émet des recommandations visant à éliminer cette irrégularité et demande que les services compétents élaborent un concept de protection des données.
Pour l'introduction prévue d'identificateurs sectoriels de personne (ISP), le PFPD entend également que les exigences de la protection des données soient prises en compte lors des prochaines étapes. Pour ce faire, il faut en premier lieu que les différentes procédures administratives devant être simplifiées par l'introduction d'identificateurs de personne soient analysées de près. Le PFPD examinera le projet de loi dans le cadre de la procédure de consultation et donnera alors son avis.
En relation avec la modification de l'art. 179quinquies du Code pénal (CP), le PFPD signale que l'autorisation de l'enregistrement de certaines conversations téléphoniques dans le cadre des relations d'affaires sans le consentement des participants constitue une réglementation d'exception et qu'à ce titre elle doit toujours être interprétée de façon restrictive. Les enregistrements ne peuvent servir qu'à des fins de preuve. La transmission d'un enregistrement à un tiers reste punissable.
Le PFPD s'exprime au sujet des risques et des problèmes qui peuvent se présenter lors de la publication par un organe de la Confédération de données personnelles sur Internet ; grâce aux moteurs de recherche électroniques, ces données peuvent être consultées à l'échelle de la planète et surtout sans limites dans le temps. Il appartient aux organes fédéraux concernés d'engager une réflexion fondamentale sur la protection des droits de la personnalité car il incombe tout particulièrement à l'État de respecter le droit de chaque individu à être protégé contre l'utilisation abusive de ses données personnelles, droit garanti par la Constitution.
En ce qui concerne les travaux relatifs à la cyberadministration, le PFPD demande que les mandants désignent les responsables de la protection des données lors de l'attribution de projets dans le cadre de l'organisation de projet et que les bénéficiaires de ces mandats disposent du savoir-faire technique requis en la matière. Ce sont les mandants eux-mêmes qui sont responsables du respect de la protection des données.
Le PFPD critique le manque de réflexions concrètes sur le rapport entre le traitement de données à des fins administratives d'une part et à des fins statistiques de l'autre, alors même que cette distinction est essentielle pour la protection des données dans le domaine de la statistique. Le PFPD insiste sur le fait que la possibilité de lier des données personnelles provenant de différentes sources représente un danger d'atteinte aux droits de la personnalité bien plus grand que celui présenté par la simple compilation de données à des fins statistiques.
La mise en œuvre de systèmes de reconnaissance faciale dans les stades impose que les personnes concernées soient clairement informées, particulièrement en vue de l'exercice de leur droit d'accès aux données les concernant. Le PFPD souligne en outre que la répartition des compétences et des tâches entre les organes privés responsables de certaines mesures de sécurité et les organes de police chargés de la sécurité publique doit être clairement définie.
Le PFPD demande le strict respect du secret professionnel par les médecins qui confient à des tiers l'encaissement de leurs factures ou engagent des poursuites contre un patient mauvais payeur. Dans un cas de ce genre, le médecin doit en principe avoir obtenu l'accord de la personne concernée avant de pouvoir transmettre des données personnelles. À défaut de ce consentement et si le médecin entend défendre son propre intérêt en se libérant de son obligation de garder le secret, la loi prévoit la possibilité d'une levée du secret professionnel par l'autorité dont relève le médecin ou par l'autorité de surveillance.
Le PFPD invite les utilisateurs d'ordinateurs personnels ou d'Internet à accorder la plus grande attention à la sécurité de leur installation et de leurs données et à prendre conscience des risques encourus. La reconnaissance des risques potentiels constitue le premier pas vers l'autoprotection, qui peut en règle générale être obtenue par le biais de logiciels gratuits.
Enfin, le PFPD attire l'attention sur la décision de la CFPD en matière de tests de dépistage de la consommation de drogues auprès des apprentis. De l'avis de la CFPD, l'entreprise Roche doit adapter son programme de dépistage de manière à ce que les tests ne puissent être effectués qu'au cas par cas sur la base de soupçons fondés et uniquement avec le consentement, valable pour ce cas précis, de la personne en cause. La CFPD confirme ainsi dans une large mesure la position défendue par le PFPD dans ses recommandations relatives à l'entreprise Roche.
Retour à vue d'ensemble 2004

Fin secteur de contenu