Transborder data flows

The Swiss data protection law guarantees the protection of the private sphere for data processing carried out by persons in Switzerland. However, when data is transmitted abroad, an adequate level of its protection has to be provided for thereabouts.

Due to current developments, we will continuously add to and adapt the information on this page. Status: 27 August 2021

The current regulations are as follows:


Guide for checking the admissibility of data transfers with reference to foreign countries (Art. 6 para. 2 letter a FADP)

This guidance is intended to make it easier for data owners to check the permissibility of data transfers of personal data abroad.Based on a diagram, this guidance explains the case of data transfer abroad according to art. 6 para. 2 letter a FADP, if legislation is lacking there that ensures adequate protection* and this lack must be compensated by sufficient guarantees (cf. also art. 6 para. 2 and 3 of the Ordinance to the Federal Act on Data Protection DPO, SR. 235.11). The requirements according to letters b - g are not addressed in this guidance.

* To check whether the country to which data are transferred offers adequate data protection, the list of countries (here below) serves as a guide.


The transfer of personal data to a country with an inadequate level of data protection based on recognised standard contractual clauses and model contracts

In its statement of 27 August 2021, the FDPIC recognises the standard contractual clauses for the transfer of personal data to third countries in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council (pursuant to Implementing Decision 2021/914/EU) as the basis for personal data transfers to a country without an adequate level of data protection, provided that the necessary adaptations and amendments are made for use under Swiss data protection law.

The following explanations show which adaptations and amendments must be made.  The standard contractual clauses pursuant to the European Commission Decision of 5 February 2010 on standard contractual clauses for the transfer of personal data to processors established in third countries under Directive 95/46/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council (2010/87/EU), the Swiss Transborder Data Flow Agreement (for outsourcing of data processing) of November 2013 and Council of Europe model contract to ensure equivalent protection in the context of cross-border data flows can still be notified until 27 September 2021 and continue to be used during a transitional period until 31 December 2022. 


New standard contractual clauses


Previous standard contractual clauses

(The FDPIC is in the process of revising the model contract.)


Further information

If you are a responsible for a database yourself, please find more information on the topic in the respective chapters in the following publications (in German, French or Italian):

https://www.edoeb.admin.ch/content/edoeb/en/home/datenschutz/handel-und-wirtschaft/uebermittlung-ins-ausland.html

Übermittlung ins Ausland

Das schweizerische Datenschutzgesetz gewährleistet den Schutz der Privatsphäre für Datenbearbeitungen, die von Personen in der Schweiz vorgenommen werden. Wenn aber Daten ins Ausland übermittelt werden sollen, muss sichergestellt sein, dass diese Daten dort angemessen geschützt sind.

Aufgrund aktueller Entwicklungen werden wir die Informationen auf dieser Seite laufend ergänzen und anpassen. Aktueller Stand: 27. August 2021

Hier finden Sie einen Überblick über die geltenden Regeln:


Anleitung für die Prüfung der Zulässigkeit von Datenübermittlungen mit Auslandbezug (nach Art. 6 Abs. 2 lit. a DSG)

Die vorliegende Anleitung soll Datenbearbeitern die Prüfung der Zulässigkeit von Datenübermittlungen von personenbezogenen Daten ins Ausland erleichtern. Anhand eines Schemas erläutert diese Anleitung den Anwendungsfall des Datentransfers ins Ausland nach Art. 6 Abs. 2 lit. a DSG, wenn dort eine Gesetzgebung fehlt, die einen angemessenen Schutz gewährleistet*, und dieser Mangel durch hinreichende Garantien kompensiert werden muss (vgl. auch Art. 6 Abs. 2 und 3 der Verordnung zum Bundesgesetz über den Datenschutz VDSG, SR. 235.11). Auf die Voraussetzungen nach lit. b – g wird in dieser Anleitung nicht eingegangen.

* Zur Prüfung, ob das Land, in welches Daten übermittelt werden, einen angemessenen Datenschutz bietet, dient die Staatenliste (s. unten).


Die Übermittlung von Personendaten in ein Land ohne angemessenes Datenschutzniveau gestützt auf anerkannte Standardvertragsklauseln und Musterverträge

Mit Mitteilung vom 27. August 2021 anerkennt der EDÖB die Standardvertragsklauseln für die Übermittlung personenbezogener Daten an Drittländer gemäß der Verordnung (EU) 2016/679 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates (gem. Durchführungsbeschluss 2021/914/EU) als Grundlage für Personendatenübermittlungen in ein Land ohne angemessenes Datenschutzniveau, sofern die für eine Verwendung unter Schweizer Datenschutzrecht notwendigen Anpassungen und Ergänzungen vorgenommen werden. Folgende Ausführungen zeigen, welche Anpassungen und Ergänzungen dabei vorzunehmen sind. 

Die Standardvertragsklauseln gemäss dem Beschluss der Europäischen Kommission vom 5. Februar 2010 über Standardvertragsklauseln für die Übermittlung personenbezogener Daten an Auftragsverarbeiter in Drittländern nach der Richtlinie 95/46/EG des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates (2010/87/EU), das Swiss Transborder Data Flow Agreement (for outsourcing of data processing) von November 2013 sowie der Mustervertrag des Europarats für die Sicherstellung eines angemessenen Datenschutzes im Rahmen des grenzüberschreitenden Datenverkehrs können noch bis zum 27. September 2021 neu gemeldet und während einer Übergangsfrist bis zum 31. Dezember 2022 weiter verwendet werden. 


Neue Standardklauseln


Bisherige Standardklauseln und Musterverträge

(Der EDÖB ist daran, den Mustervertrag zu überarbeiten.)


Weitere Informationen

https://www.edoeb.admin.ch/content/edoeb/de/home/datenschutz/handel-und-wirtschaft/uebermittlung-ins-ausland.html