Transborder data flows

The Swiss data protection law guarantees the protection of the private sphere for data processing carried out by persons in Switzerland. However, when data is transmitted abroad, an adequate level of its protection has to be provided for thereabouts.

Due to current developments, we will continuously add to and adapt the information on this page. Status: 27 August 2021

The current regulations are as follows:


Guide for checking the admissibility of data transfers with reference to foreign countries (Art. 6 para. 2 letter a FADP)

This guidance is intended to make it easier for data owners to check the permissibility of data transfers of personal data abroad.Based on a diagram, this guidance explains the case of data transfer abroad according to art. 6 para. 2 letter a FADP, if legislation is lacking there that ensures adequate protection* and this lack must be compensated by sufficient guarantees (cf. also art. 6 para. 2 and 3 of the Ordinance to the Federal Act on Data Protection DPO, SR. 235.11). The requirements according to letters b - g are not addressed in this guidance.

* To check whether the country to which data are transferred offers adequate data protection, the list of countries (here below) serves as a guide.


The transfer of personal data to a country with an inadequate level of data protection based on recognised standard contractual clauses and model contracts

In its statement of 27 August 2021, the FDPIC recognises the standard contractual clauses for the transfer of personal data to third countries in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council (pursuant to Implementing Decision 2021/914/EU) as the basis for personal data transfers to a country without an adequate level of data protection, provided that the necessary adaptations and amendments are made for use under Swiss data protection law.

The following explanations show which adaptations and amendments must be made.  The standard contractual clauses pursuant to the European Commission Decision of 5 February 2010 on standard contractual clauses for the transfer of personal data to processors established in third countries under Directive 95/46/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council (2010/87/EU), the Swiss Transborder Data Flow Agreement (for outsourcing of data processing) of November 2013 and Council of Europe model contract to ensure equivalent protection in the context of cross-border data flows can still be notified until 27 September 2021 and continue to be used during a transitional period until 31 December 2022. 


New standard contractual clauses


Previous standard contractual clauses

(The FDPIC is in the process of revising the model contract.)


Further information

If you are a responsible for a database yourself, please find more information on the topic in the respective chapters in the following publications (in German, French or Italian):

https://www.edoeb.admin.ch/content/edoeb/en/home/datenschutz/handel-und-wirtschaft/uebermittlung-ins-ausland.html

Transmission à l'étranger

La loi fédérale sur la protection des données garantit la protection de la sphère privée pour le traitement de données effectué en Suisse. Toutefois, lorsque des données sont transmises à l'étranger, il faut vérifier qu'elles seront soumises à une législation assurant un niveau de protection adéquat.

En raison des évolutions actuelles, nous compléterons et adapterons en permanence les informations figurant sur cette page. État actuel : 27 août 2021

Vous trouvez ici une vue d'ensemble des règles en vigueur:


Guide pour vérifier l'admissibilité des transferts directs ou indirects de données vers l'étranger (art. 6 al. 2 lettre a du LPD)

Le présent guide vise à faciliter l’examen – par les personnes qui traitent des données – de la licéité du transfert de données à caractère personnel vers l’étranger. Il illustre, au moyen d’un schéma, la procédure de transfert de données vers l’étranger dans les cas où le pays concerné ne dispose pas d’une législation qui assure un niveau de protection adéquat* et où cette carence doit être compensée par des garanties suffisantes (art. 6, al. 2, let. a, LPD et art. 6, al. 2 et 3, de l’ordonnance relative à la loi fédérale sur la protection des don-nées, OLPD, RS 235.11). Précisons que le présent guide n’aborde pas les conditions énoncées à l’art. 6, al. 2, let. b à g, LPD.

*Pour vérifier si le pays vers lequel les données sont transférées offre une protection adéquate des données vous pouvez utiliser la liste des États (voir ci-dessous).


Transfert de données personnelles vers un pays ne présentant pas un niveau de protection des données adéquat en application de clauses contractuelles types et de contrats types reconnus

Dans son communiqué du 27 août 2021, le PFPDT reconnaît les clauses contractuelles types pour le transfert de données personnelles vers des pays tiers au sens du règlement (UE) 2016/679 du Parlement européen et du Conseil (décision d'exécution (UE) 2021/914) comme base pour transférer des données personnelles vers un pays ne présentant pas un niveau de protection des données adéquat, à condition que des adaptations et compléments soient apportés pour que l’utilisation des données soit conforme au droit suisse. Les explications suivantes montrent les adaptations et compléments à apporter.

Les clauses contractuelles types au sens de la décision de la Commission européenne du 5 février 2010 relative aux clauses contractuelles types pour le transfert de données à caractère personnel à des sous-traitants établis dans des pays tiers en vertu de la directive 95/46/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil (2010/87/UE), le Swiss Transborder Data Flow Agreement (for outsourcing of data processing) de novembre 2013 et le contrat-type du Conseil de l'Europe visant à assurer une protection équivalente des données dans le cadre des flux transfrontières de données peuvent encore être notifiés jusqu'au 27 septembre 2021 et continuer à être utilisés, pendant une période transitoire, jusqu'au 31 décembre 2022.


Nouvelles clauses contractuelles types

Précédentes clauses contractuelles types

(Le PFPDT est en train de réviser le contrat-type.)

Informations complémentaires

Pour les maîtres de fichiers, des informations supplémentaires se trouvent dans les guides suivants:

https://www.edoeb.admin.ch/content/edoeb/fr/home/datenschutz/handel-und-wirtschaft/uebermittlung-ins-ausland.html